CricketUncategorized

T20 WC: Cricket followers & specialists react as third umpire ‘robs’ Ravindra Jadeja from claiming a sensational catch

Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who is understood for his top-class fielding, displayed one more present of excellent athleticism to mesmerise his followers and the cricket fraternity throughout a T20 World Cup match in opposition to Afghanistan in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday (November 3).

Afghanistan had been 126/6 within the penultimate over of the mammoth run chase when Karim Janat tried a wild slog off Indian pacer Mohammed Shami.

Jadeja steamed in from the boundary rope and claimed a surprising diving catch simply inches above the turf – or so he thought.

“What a magnificence!” mentioned former Zimbabwe cricketer Pommie Mbangwa within the commentary.

“You possibly can inform by the celebrations simply how good it’s. It’s an unimaginable catch.”

The choice was despatched for a overview to 3rd umpire Aleem Dar with a delicate sign of ‘out’. After trying on the a number of slow-motion replays, Dar overturned the on-field umpires name and deemed the batter ‘not-out’.

Replays confirmed that the ball was between Jadeja’s fingers earlier than his arms hit the bottom, however Dar believed the ball additionally made contact with the turf.

“The ball is hitting the bottom. I’ve made my choice,” mentioned Dar earlier than displaying his name on the large display screen.

Jadeja and Indian skipper Virat Kohli appeared sad with the third umpire’s choice.

“He can’t consider it, Ravi Jadeja,” Mbangwa mentioned.

“However I can perceive why the TV ump says it isn’t out.

“It’s a completely unimaginable effort, however simply as he will get there, he doesn’t fairly have it in hand, and it’s kind of between the fingers.

“It appears because it hits the bottom, the bottom helps the ball into the arms. What an effort, what a pity.”

Though Dar’s choice abided by the legal guidelines of the sport, it couldn’t cease cricket followers and specialists from expressing their anger on social media.

Former South African paceman Dale Steyn tweeted: “That’s a drained name Mr Ump.”

England batter Sam Billings wrote: “Thought that was out tbf… Jadeja is ridiculous within the area!”

Former Netherlands star Wesley Barresi posted: “That was a spectacular catch from @imjadeja. How that was known as not out is just a little unfair!”

Right here is how followers reacted:

Speaking extra concerning the match, blazing half-centuries by opening batters Rohit Sharma (74) and KL Rahul (69) powered India to 210/2 after being put in to bat. The bowlers then shined with the ball as Afghanistan had been restricted to 144/7 of their stipulated 20 overs.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button