NZC title New Zealand squad for Bangladesh Exams; no place for milestone man Ajaz Patel

On Thursday, New Zealand Cricket (NZC) introduced the 13-man squad for the upcoming dwelling Check collection towards Bangladesh, beginning in Mount Maunganui on New 12 months’s Day.

Common skipper Kane Williamson isn’t within the squad after being dominated out resulting from his elbow harm. In his absence, opener Tom Latham will lead the facet.

Left-handed batter Devon Conway has made his return to the squad after spending a couple of weeks on the sidelines resulting from a hand harm sustained within the T20 World Cup semi-final towards England in November. Other than Conway, the tempo duo of Trent Boult and Matt Henry have additionally made a comeback within the whites after being rested for the Check collection in India.

Nonetheless, there’s no place within the 13-man outfit for the specialist spinner Ajaz Patel, who had taken a 10-wicket haul in an innings in his last outing in Mumbai. Patel took all 10 wickets throughout India’s first innings of the second check in Mumbai and completed with match figures of 14-225.

Sharing his ideas on the shocker, New Zealand head coach Gary Stead mentioned they’ve gone for the horses-for-courses choice coverage, and therefore Patel wasn’t picked within the squad.

“You do really feel for Ajaz after his record-breaking show in India. Nonetheless, we’ve all the time utilized a horses-for-courses choice coverage and consider the gamers chosen greatest match the best way we need to tackle Bangladesh right here at dwelling,” mentioned Stead as quoted by Stuff.

“I believe in the event you have a look at the truth of spin bowlers in New Zealand within the final 4 or 5 years, there hasn’t been numerous them taking truckloads of wickets. And that’s not essentially the spinners’ fault, however exhibits the power of the place we’re at with our tempo bowling unit in the mean time,” he added.

Right here is New Zealand’s squad for the house Exams towards Bangladesh:

Tom Latham (c), Tom Blundell (wk), Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, Will Younger

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button