Seven venues confirmed for ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia

On Tuesday, the Worldwide Cricket Council (ICC) revealed the seven venues for subsequent 12 months’s version of the T20 World Cup in Australia.

The event, which was imagined to be held in 2020 however bought postponed for 2 years as a consequence of COVID-19, will now happen from October 16 to November 13 in 2022.

The marquee occasion will see 45 matches at seven totally different venues throughout Adelaide, Brisbane, Perth, Melbourne, Hobart and Sydney, with the ultimate scheduled to be performed below lights on the Melbourne Cricket Floor (MCG).

With 12 groups already confirmed within the line-up, we eagerly await the fruits of the qualification course of to see which different groups will be a part of them,” the ICC head of occasions, Chris Tetley, stated in an official assertion.

We’re wanting ahead to seeing the return of ICC occasions to Australia and are delighted to announce the seven host cities for the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2022. Following the success of the ICC Girls’s T20 World Cup in 2020 and a two-year postponement, our sights at the moment are firmly set on planning for the 2022 occasion in collaboration with the Native Organising Committee (LOC),” Tetley added.

The 2021 T20 World Cup champions Australia and runner-ups New Zealand, in addition to India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, England, South Africa and Bangladesh, as the subsequent highest-ranked groups, will get direct entry into the Tremendous 12 stage of the 2022 T20 World Cup.

West Indies, Sri Lanka, Namibia and Scotland will play the preliminary spherical together with 4 different nations within the two qualifying tournaments – one shall happen in Oman in February whereas the opposite in Zimbabwe in June-July, 2022.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button